Exposition [ 2003-09-01, 5:36 p.m. ]

The skinny:

I'm 28, recently married, living in New York. We live in Brooklyn, in a very cool neighborhood full of awesome restaurants and funky boutiques. My husband, "Kent", works in finance, and I work in retail. Until June of this year, I worked for a Giant Retail Company - you've all shopped there - at the corporate level. I love fashion. I loved working in fashion. I did not love my particular position, and decided to take a break (read: I don't know what else to do and I really needed a change), and am now working in a teeny local boutique. I love it. I miss some things, mainly feeling like a grown-up when I go to work (oh yeah, and the Giant Retail Paycheck), but am much happier for having made the move. I have no idea (No. Idea) what I'm going to be doing next year or 5 years from now. I'm okay with that though.

I grew up in the San Francisco area - East Bay for those who know the area - and my family is still there. I miss it. I love New York, but I am From California. Always.

My husband is from Ohio. I don't love it there. I am, however, trying to be more open minded about living in The Middle. It's not an issue right now, but I know Kent would like to be closer to his family.

I have three brothers. No sisters. Sisters are a crazy concept to me. I can't imagine what it's like to have girls around the house. Kent has a sister (A), with whom I mostly get along. Mostly. I haven't figured out if she is comfortable with me either as a friend or family member. I'm hoping to be friends with her, but at this point I'm treading lightly.

My friends are great. You'll meet them sooner or later.

Kent and I have no pets, no kids. We're talking about both, but I'm sure that pets will come first - kids are still a few years away for us. And when we get a pet, it will be a dog.

I don't have a lot of regrets, but my biggest one is that I never studied abroad in college. I only got my passport two years ago and have exactly two stamps in it, which I think is pitiful.

I don't know how to do a cartwheel.

I like coffee, wine, Buffy reruns on F/X, vanilla ice cream, spy movies, Tom Robbins books, cashmere, Lucky magazine, Sex and the City, and Mini Coopers.

I dislike MTV, VHI, drama queens, peanut butter, hard liquor, most sitcoms, humidity, fake tans, and girls who write novels without ever bothering to learn how to write.

I'm hoping this site gets me writing more, and eventually gets you reading!

Best,

m.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
links
email
guestbook
notes
host
design


tunes