Is this necessary? [ 2003-08-28, 11:21 p.m. ]

The lead story on CNN.com and other newswires is the release of 9/11 transcirpts. I am ill over this. Why - why??? - do we need to relive those horrible days verbatim? I find it to be irresponsible. Not a day goes by that I do not remember that horrible morning, that long hot walk home, that eternal blur of a weekend...what is the benefit of releasing transcripts now, two years later? Those excrutiating phone calls make me just as ill now as they did two years ago. I couldn't tear myself away from the television then, I obsessively tried to immerse myself in the pain, feeling guilty for having survived and lost no loved ones. The stories from that day haunted me, as they did all of us. And now, in headlines on every newspaper and broadcast on every news station, those confused and tortured goodbyes are back. And I say, tacky and shameful. Let us mourn gracefully and remember privately.

0 comments so far

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
links
email
guestbook
notes
host
design


tunes